Students

At UNSW we recognise that cyber security is multidisciplinary and that a range of skill sets are required for the exciting opportunities that exist in cyber security jobs now and well into the future.

We offer a range of postgraduate courses to suit individuals’ needs, interests, and skill set. They run in hybrid mode allowing students to take much of their course online.

Jump to Our PhD Students

The Masters Courses 

The Master of Cyber Security is a postgraduate award offered by the School of Engineering and Information Technology. It is designed for postgraduate scholars and professional managers with appropriate undergraduate qualifications in IT, computer science, electrical computer or systems engineering or a related discipline and/or extensive relevant professional experience who wish to gain a more detailed understanding of the technical skills and expertise relevant to the technical implementation and leadership of the cyber security function.

The Master of Cyber Security Operations is a postgraduate award offered by the School of Engineering and Information Technology. It is designed for postgraduate scholars and professional managers with appropriate undergraduate qualifications in management or a related discipline and/or extensive relevant professional experience who wish to gain a more detailed understanding of the managerial and technical skills and expertise relevant to planning, operation and acquisition of the cyber security function.

Expand your career options by completing a Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) at the School of Computer Science and Engineering at UNSW Sydney. You will have the opportunity to work with global leaders to research real-world solutions and make a positive impact. We are at the forefront of research across diverse areas including cyber-security, AI, data science and software and systems.

Our Doctor of Philosophy programs are designed for those truly passionate about research. During your study you’ll be required to complete a piece of research that provides a significant and original contribution to knowledge in your field. You’ll gain advanced specialist research training to support your production of a thesis that summarises your research and provides evidence for:

- Independent thought and critical analysis

- Effective communication

- Expert knowledge of the discipline in the international context.

We encourage interested applicants to connect with one of our academic staff to discuss potential project ideas.

Further details are here.

Secure systems and networks are a vital component for organisations of all sizes in our increasingly connected world. Informed by global best practice and cutting-edge research, the Master of Cyber Security will provide you with the tools and techniques required to detect, analyse and confront cyber challenges. The Cyber Security program is designed for ambitious professionals who want to become technical experts or leaders and leverage lucrative career opportunities within the field of cyber security.

The skills you develop in this program will help you provide safe and secure online experiences, often to some of the most vulnerable online users. Select from either the Management and Leadership specialisation or Security Engineering specialisation within this program to further develop your expertise and diversify your career options.

Build your capacity as a cybersecurity professional for a rewarding and highly sought-after career.

Details about entry requirements and fees here

Our PhD Cyber Security Students

PhD Students (Canberra)

NAME EMAIL
Daniel Clark daniel.clark@student.adfa.edu.au
Josephine Dwan j.dwan@adfa.edu.au
Karine Pontbriand k.pontbriand@student.adfa.edu.au
Lisa Liu-Thorrold l.liuthorrold@adfa.edu.au
Mahmunda Akter mahmuda.akter@adfa.edu.au
Marius Becherer m.becherer@adfa.edu.au
Marwa Hassan marwa.hassan@student.adfa.edu.au
Matthew Anderson matthew.anderson@adfa.edu.au
Md Mizanur Rahman md_mizanur.rahman@adfa.edu.au
Michael Zipperle m.zipperle@adfa.edu.au
Ramtin Ranji r.ranji@student.adfa.edu.au
Rhiannon Nee-Salvador r.neesalvador@adfa.edu.au
Sean Rupka s.rupka@adfa.edu.au
Syed Shahzad s.shahzad@adfa.edu.au
Tamara Green tamara.green@adfa.edu.au
Tom Sear tom.sear@student.adfa.edu.au

Professional Doctorate Cyber Security offered at UNSW Canberra

NAME EMAIL
Stuart Fowler stuart.fowler@student.adfa.edu.au
Jessemyn Modini j.modini@adfa.edu.au

 

PhD Students (Sydney)

NAME EMAIL
Ambrose Hill ambrosewhill@gmail.com
Anahita Namvar a.namvar@unsw.edu.au
Aryan Sharma aryan.sharma@unsw.edu.au
Carlos Rivera Alvarez c.riveraalvarez@student.unsw.edu.au
David Nguyen d.d.nguyen@unsw.edu.au
Erik Buchholz e.buchholz@unsw.edu.au
Guntur Dharma Putra gdputra@unsw.edu.au
Ishan Karunanayake ishan.karunanayake@unsw.edu.au
Jiayao Gao jiayao.gao@unsw.edu.au
Jin Ho Go jinho.go@unsw.edu.au
Kane Walter kane.walter@unsw.edu.au
Lihua Wang lihua.wang@unsw.edu.au
Marium Malik marium.malik@unsw.edu.au
Michael Ruisi Yu m.r.yu@unsw.edu.au
Mohammad Majid Akhtar majid.akhtar@unsw.edu.au
Pooja Gupta pooja.gupta@unsw.edu.au
Rahma Mukta r.mukta@unsw.edu.au
Ravin Gunawardena r.gunawardena@unsw.edu.au
Roelien Christien Timmer r.timmer@unsw.edu.au
Samuel Karumba s.karumba@unsw.edu.au
Samuel Pascoe s.pascoe@unsw.edu.au
Shesha Maheshwari s.maheshwari@student.unsw.edu.au
Sidra Malik sidra.malik@unsw.edu.au
Simon Taylor s.taylor@student.unsw.edu.au
Thirasara Beruwawela Pathiranage t.devanmini@unsw.edu.au
Uzma Maroof uzma.maroof@unsw.edu.au
Weikang Xu weikang.xu@student.unsw.edu.au
Yashothara Shanmugarasa y.shanmugarasa@unsw.edu.au
Yuezhong Wu yuezhong.wu@student.unsw.edu.au
Yuvin Perera yuvin.perera@unsw.edu.au
Zakia Zaman z.zaman@unsw.edu.au